My Little Friends

 

Today, seems a day when words have left my side…realizing perhaps that I use them just to unburden myself. They carry the sometimes unbearable weight of my thoughts and just stay where I put them, like little black beasts of burden, who obediently listen to their unrelenting master. They bear, carry and embody my person, my feelings, my joys and my sorrows. They alone have the power to represent all my shades, making them a party to all the crimes I commit on paper and in my mind. Silent, soulful, vibrant, bold, beautiful and yet unassuming. They are the fragments without which I am expressionless and pointless, for even though, experiencing the boundless emotions maybe an unparalleled treasure in itself, being able to put a pen to paper, form words out of those alphabets I learnt in kindergarten and phrases out of the words and full bodied sentences from those phrases is what shapes me.

Time and time again, I have been told by some to write…to try and express more than my eyes can with the help of these little friends of mine called words which connect mysteriously to form sentences and have the potential to soak in all…or almost all of my feelings inside of them. I use them not only to unburden myself but also to enhance whatever goes on in this sometimes corrupt and sometimes childlike mind of mine. Howsoever unassuming they may look, once set on paper, they assume a power over me…and transcend me to the heights of expression that would not be possible were I left to do the task with my eyes alone. Being verbal also diminishes my energy whereas writing down the same enhances it. Words are slowly seeping into me and becoming a part of my soul…they are becoming my soul mates…again…transiently. At least for now….at least in this moment in time. Tomorrow, they may abandon me, but will surely come back to nourish me and replenish me whenever I need them the most.

Sometimes, every word that I write is so heavily embroiled and soaked in emotions and feelings that it synergistically stands out in the sentence that it figures in. It seems to breathe and has a life and personality of its own…a multidimensional one at that!

So give me the power, once again, my little friends…make me worthy of you. Give me the strength in mind to put you to paper and understand once again how precious and complete a shape you take when you dawn upon yourself to do justice to the emotions of a non entity and sum up a person, an event, a thought or a feeling and become much more in sum total than any of these are worth without you.

Leave a Reply

